Need some help formatting queries.

Forum related to version 6.5.1 (alpha) and 6.6.x (beta) of ZeosLib's DBOs

Moderators: gto, cipto_kh, EgonHugeist

ZombiePriest
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder

Need some help formatting queries.

Post by ZombiePriest »

Hi, I'm pretty new to both delphi and MySQL so if this is something retarded ... well sorry.

If I run:

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `users` WHERE ostatus = "Offline";

in mysql query browser it works perfectly, but if I try to use:

ZQuery1.SQL.Text := 'SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `users` WHERE ostatus = ("Offline");';

In my delphi project, I always get a full record count, not just the ones where ostatus = Offline (or online if I do it the other way round).

Just wondering what I need to change in my syntax to get this query working properly.

Any help much appreciated.
mdaems
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager

Post by mdaems »

Why do you use () in Delphi and not in mysql query browser?

Mark
ZombiePriest
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder

Post by ZombiePriest »

ZQuery1.SQL.Text := 'SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `users` WHERE ostatus = ("Offline");';

Blah, that was a stupid copy/paste error. it isn't in my code my code is:

ZQuery1.SQL.Text := 'SELECT COUNT(*) FROM `users` WHERE ostatus = "Offline";';

I copy/pasted after trying a few things people shouted at me on my irc network, lol none of them use delphi it was an exercise in futility.

After further attempts I've come to the conclusion that I just have no idea how to use these components lol. I can't find any examples of them being used and no help documents appear to be available, except reference to some java bit.

Java could as well be chinese to me lol, so if anyone can provide an example using these components to connect to a mysql db, and retrieve a count of records with WHERE, and output the result to a memo, edit whatever.. I'll umm , give you my firstborn.

That's really all I have to offer, lol that and gratitude.
mdaems
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager