Forum related to version 6.5.1 (alpha) and 6.6.x (beta) of ZeosLib's DBOs
Moderators: gto, cipto_kh, EgonHugeist
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
Hi,
How can I easily check if a Table exists ? (No Select and No TZTable.open + exception) ?
thx
-
gto
- Zeos Dev Team
- Posts: 278
- Joined: 11.11.2005, 18:35
- Location: Porto Alegre / Brasil
Post
by gto »
TZConnection have a GetTableNames function, which returns the name of all tables.. try it
-
zippo
- Silver Boarder
- Posts: 322
- Joined: 12.10.2005, 18:01
- Location: Slovenia
Post
by zippo »
At least two ways:
Execute a query "Show Tables like "teblename%" and see if there's your table.
Use ZSQLMetadata component to do it.
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
Thank you,
it works fine :-)
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
Hi Zippo,
how does it work with ZSQLMetadata, have you an example please?
thx
-
Terence
- Zeos Dev Team
- Posts: 141
- Joined: 22.09.2005, 14:11
- Location: Stuttgart
-
Contact:
Post
by Terence »
Var List:TStringList;
List:= TStringList.Create;
Connection.GetTableNames('tablename%',string; List);
......
List.Free;
fabian
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
I know how it works with GetTableNames but I ask how it works with ZSQLMetadata
-
Terence
- Zeos Dev Team
- Posts: 141
- Joined: 22.09.2005, 14:11
- Location: Stuttgart
-
Contact:
Post
by Terence »
GetTableNames is implemented in/as ZSqlMetaData
fabian
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
thx but GetTableNames give me all the tables back !
I just want the tables from one shema !
-
Terence
- Zeos Dev Team
- Posts: 141
- Joined: 22.09.2005, 14:11
- Location: Stuttgart
-
Contact:
Post
by Terence »
That is there is a filter param for that method, check
Connection.GetTableNames('shema%',List);
fabian
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
thx,
I have a problem: the name of my shema is BISS, I try
zConnection1.GetTableNames('BISS%',List);
but it doesn't work :-(
-
Terence
- Zeos Dev Team
- Posts: 141
- Joined: 22.09.2005, 14:11
- Location: Stuttgart
-
Contact:
Post
by Terence »
Then apply my
patch on Testing branch,compile zeos and call
ZConnection.GetTableNames('BISS','',List);
afterwards.
If it works for you, i will commit.
fabian
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
thx a lot Terence ,
It works great with your modified Procedure!
-
Terence
- Zeos Dev Team
- Posts: 141
- Joined: 22.09.2005, 14:11
- Location: Stuttgart
-
Contact:
Post
by Terence »
which databse did you use - i need the info just for commit statment.
fabian
-
bart57
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 11
- Joined: 18.07.2006, 14:40
Post
by bart57 »
I use Oracle 10g