Page 1 of 1

dblib

Posted: 11.07.2006, 12:53
by guyvdb
We use Zeoslib 6.5.1 (release nov. 2004) in our project.
It works fine, except the speed (open query) is slow.

I was currious about the newer version if it is faster. So, i installed it this morning.
But with the latest versions (revison 66 and 79), we are unable to run a select.

Test:

Drop a connection and a query on the form. Open the connection and type in the sql editor of the query something like 'SELECT * FROM COUNTRIES', where countries is a table.

Open the query and you get an error 'General SQL server error... Invalid column name 'countries'. I tried several selects eg.: 'SELECT * FROM M2.dbo.COUNTRIES', 'SELECT * FROM [COUNTRIES]'. Always with the same error.

Are we doing something wrong (a missing property or a wrong property) or is it an error?

For the moment, we go back to the release of nov. 2004.

Regards,

Guy

Posted: 11.07.2006, 22:36
by Terence
Do you really have to select the whole table?
I am not sure if the Query is the best component to do so, i think there was some table comps also.
Which database do you use? Interbase?

Posted: 12.07.2006, 07:39
by guyvdb
Hi Terence,

We are using delphi 7 in combination with sqlserver 2000 (dblib).
'SELECT FIELD FROM TABLE' results in the same error.

Off course in our production environment, we never define a select like 'SELECT * FROM TABLE'.
I only wanted to compare the speed between the old and the newer version.

Posted: 12.07.2006, 10:01
by mdaems
Does it work with field names in your select ?

I just tried this with mysql to be sure it's not a general problem. It works, even with a countries table with a countries field therein.

I suppose you linked the connection to the query. Filled out the database name? Not sure if a 'catalog' thing exists for sqlserver. (I don't use it)

Mark

(If you wantto pm, you can do it in dutch)

Posted: 12.07.2006, 10:25
by guyvdb
Hi Mark,

Heb eveneens getest met veldnamen in select.
Probleem blijft.
Heb gisteren ongeveer alle mogelijkheden getest, en krijg
steeds dezelfde fout: de naam van de tabel wordt beschouwd als een veld.

Heb een klein testproject gemaakt om snelheid te testen. Dit werkt prima met de versie van nov. 2005, maar nt met de laatste releases. Opzet is nochtans simpel: connectie component gedropt op form, nodige properties ingesteld, geconnecteerd (gn enkel) probleem. Dan read only query gedropt op form, in sql editor 'select co_id from countries' getypt. Dan active op true en boem: hoger gemelde fout verschijnt.
Identiek dezelfde opzet met versie 6.5.1 nov. 2005 werkt perfect.

Alvorens over te schakelen nr de nwe release heb ik alle bpl, map van zeos in de bpl map van delphi gewist om een conflict met de vorige versie te vermijden. Heb dus een clean install gedaan.

We hebben vroeger gekozen voor dblib, omdat ado niet goed werkte.
Heb met de laatste release ook eens geconnecteerd met ado, en dat gaat wel. Alleen dblib geeft probleem.

Alvast bedankt,

Guy

Posted: 14.07.2006, 08:47
by mdaems
Sorry Guy,

I meant that you can use dutch in a private message. We hope to keep the forum as English as possible.

I've sent you a pm, I hope you find it?

Mark

Posted: 28.07.2006, 09:42
by guyvdb
Anyone who is working with the latest version of zeoslib in combination with
dblib (sql server 2000)?
It does not work for me.

A simple select crashes because zeos interpretes the tablename as a fieldname.
As I said, we are still working with an old version (6.5.1 nov 2004). Here it works fine.
We will upgrade, because of other bugs (ADO) and performance problems.

It is simple to produce the error:

1/ Drop tzconnection on the form. Connect to sql server 2000 via dblib
2/ Drop tzquery (or tzreadonlyquery) on the the form. Type a select in the text area eg. 'SELECT ISO FROM COUNTRIES'.
3/ Open the query and you get an error: 'invalid field countries'

Posted: 06.08.2006, 02:46
by Alien_SM
Hi there

First post.

I have the same problem and is also getting the same message.
Here is the full message:"General SQL Server error: Check messages from the SQL Server. Invalid object name 'Items'"

Im just using a TZTable. But also tried with a query and still the same. This only happens when I try and set my table to active. Doesn't matter what the table name is.

I can set my connection to active but that is where it ends.

Im using BDS2006 in the C++Builder Personality with MSSQL EXPRESS 2005.

Posted: 10.10.2006, 20:55
by mdaems
Guy, maybe this problem has been fixed in current SVN testing branch. (See recent bug reports (10/10/2006) - http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=788) The changes is very easy, so you don't have to use this SVN version if you don't want to.
Can you confirm if it works, please?

Saluutjes,
Mark

Posted: 11.10.2006, 08:05
by guyvdb
Hi Mark,

The issue is fixed.
We did some tests yesterday and there were no more problems with the
new version.

Nevertheless, there are some changes (and problems) with the packages in version .102: ZComponent.dpk and ZComponentDesign.dpk.
What is the reason?

I installed the packages in this order:

zcore
zparsesql
zplain
zdbc
zcomponent
zcomponentdesign: compile and install

Then, I can see the components in the ide, but without the right picture and they are not in the list of the installed packages.

So, I installed an older version (.98) with the necessary patches and everything works like a charm.

Thanks,

Guy

Posted: 11.10.2006, 10:01
by mdaems
Guy,

Was your problem fixed with this patch or was it already OK before?

Concerning the package split :
Indeed, the icons were gone. We forgot to move the reference to the dcr file from the components package to the Componentdesign package. Very easy if you want to do it yourself. (Move 1 text line) Is fixed in SVN version and thus in next package I build.
Reason for the split : some people want to distribute bpl's with their program. The old component package refered to some Delphi library you can't deploy otherwise. (See http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=726)

Mark

Posted: 11.10.2006, 10:29
by guyvdb
Mark,



I installed version .102 (so with the patches) with zcomponent*.* from version .98.
Today, i gonna install the full version of .102 with the necessary changes.


Guy