Page 1 of 1

Failure to install on client's laptop

Posted: 28.11.2012, 05:37
by Delphic
I have installed the Zeos 7 Beta on my own machine but it fails on my client's. We re both running Delphi xe2, his is Entreprise, mine is Pro. His machine is running 64-bit windows 7, mine is running Window 7 32-bit.

When I go to Compile all on ZeosDbo or ProjectGoup16 it seems to get through ZCore.dpk but then shows 2 fatal errors:
ZCore.dpk(1) E2225 Never-build package 'ZCore' must be recompiled
ZParseSQL.dpk(33) E2202 Required package 'ZCore' not found

This is production code we are working on, so I hope we can find a solution and get back to working on this

TIA
Mark Patterson

Posted: 28.11.2012, 13:33
by EgonHugeist
Delphic,

This happens if somewhere on your client laptop old files are located which the next package needs. Have a look to the bpl and dcp output-folders and droh all old dcp,dcu and bpl files. Then i works like on your computer.

Posted: 29.11.2012, 01:10
by Delphic
Thanks for your suggestion, Michael.

On my machine there were a number of Z*.bpl and Z*.dcp files in C:\Users\Public\Documents\RAD Studio\9.0\Bpl and Dcp. (But no Z- files were in C:\Users\Public\Documents\RAD Studio\9.0\Bpl\Win64)

So, I looked in the same directory on the troublesome laptop and found only ZCore160.bpl, which was obviously as far as the Compile all had got, and the corresponding dcp file.

I did a global search on z*.bpl and there were only places that I had recently moved and one that I moved to a new place. I tried the Compile all on ZeosDbo again, and unfortunately got the same result as before.

What would the next thing to look at be?

TIA
Mark

Posted: 29.11.2012, 02:05
by Delphic
Here's something else I tried without success:

I was hoping that maybe there was a bug in the code that had been fixed, so I downloaded what I presume is the latest Zeos 7 code from http://svn.code.sf.net/p/zeoslib/code-0 ... es/testing but that gave the same result.

Not sure if that is actually the latest Zeos 7 code, but it might eliminate something.

TIA
Mark

Posted: 29.11.2012, 08:08
by EgonHugeist
Delphic,
I did a global search on z*.bpl and there were only places that I had recently moved and one that I moved to a new place. I tried the Compile all on ZeosDbo again, and unfortunately got the same result as before.
Moving these files is never a good idea. Take care the compiler does it for you. Ok this points me to the packages. Question: did you found the bpl's in the \packages\!YourCompiler!\build directory?

So you can right click to the packages and change the DCP Outputfolder to: $(BDSCOMMONDIR)\Dcp
and the Bpl-Output folder to $(BDSCOMMONDIR)\Bpl.

Also can you change the Search and library-patch variables of Delphi to each source and the build folder. Then you are sure all files where recompiled if you want to do it.
Not sure if that is actually the latest Zeos 7 code, but it might eliminate something.
\testing is the bugfix fur Zeos7-Beta with feature freeze.
\testing-7.1 will be the coming newer release with some more features.

Posted: 29.11.2012, 10:08
by Delphic
Thanks for hanging in there, Michael. The files were moved from their default location to a new folder that I put on the desktop so that I could be sure they were not used. I was being timid. I could have just deleted them.

I don't have the offending laptop with me at present, so I'll answer from memory. There were no zeos bpl files on the machine except a freshly created ZCore.bpl and the ones that I moved to the new subfolder. I was fine with the locations. The BPL fodler is on the PATH. I had added in all the source files to the Library folder.

So, we are at a loss to explain what is going on. It may be a delphi configuration issue, I guess ??

Regards
Mark

Posted: 29.11.2012, 13:04
by EgonHugeist
Hi Mark,

I think your suggestion is right and i can't see a Zeos issue here. Did you try to make a TeamViewer session with the cient-Laptop? A lot of people using Zeos if they are able to hande correct setted environment variables. I know this thread issue by my selves, but i solved it with my suggestions i did previously.

Posted: 30.11.2012, 07:38
by Delphic
Michael, I have a hunch that the issue is something to do with the fact that my machine, where Zeos installs normally, is 32-bit and the client's machine is 64-bit. Can you think of any ways that difference could lead to the issues we are seeing?

Regards
Mark

Posted: 30.11.2012, 08:53
by EgonHugeist
Delphic,

I'm sorry: No again. I use a Vista32 and Windows7-64. In both environments it works perfectly. But i have nor XE2. I know XE2 supports a 32 and 64Bit output. Can you check the Targets first? And AFAIK did user "miab3" group the output folders to: Debug/Release and Target-Plattform. But if there are changes for the BPL's/DCP's i don't know. Please check if there is no mix with the target-plattforms except the ZComponentDesign-Package wich should be allways 32Bit since Delphi's design IDE can't handle a 64Bit compiled package.

Posted: 30.11.2012, 10:46
by miab3
Delphic, EgonHugeist,

Set of packages that I use (on Window7-64) for Delphi XE2 pro 32/64/CPP in attached.
I only build 64-Debug and 32-Debug.
Subdirectories Win32/CPP, Win32/Debug and Win64/Debug are created.

Michal

Posted: 02.12.2012, 00:22
by Delphic
Thanks, Michal.

We'll try that out as soon as we can.

Regards
Mark

Posted: 06.12.2012, 16:47
by donaldshimoda
Actual beta work as expected:

I downloaded actual beta, compile and install perfect on XE2:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/zeoslib ... .0.1-beta/

Just go to packages\delphixe2 and open the project group , build all and install the design package.

HTH