Page 1 of 1

MSEide+MSEgui version 1.4beta1

Posted: 19.08.2007, 12:54
by mse
MSEide+MSEgui version 1.4beta1 has been released:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=165409

New in 1.4:
- Compiles with FPC 2.0.4, 2.1.5 and (hopefully) 2.2.
- tsqlresult, a SQL result set which does not inherit from tdataset
  for fast readonly unidirectional data access.
- tsqllookupbuffer, a lookupbuffer to be connected to tsqlresult.
- ZeosLib components.
- tgdiprinter for win32 GDI printing.
- topenglwidget with an OpenGL render context.
- Procedure unidrawstring to render unicode text with automatically
  selecting glyphs from other fonts for unsupported code points in the
  base font (Xft only).
- tchart and tchartrecorder, components to draw xy charts.
- Build system extended to be used with non FPC compilers.
- Some bug fixes and many small improvements.

If you want to build MSEide with Zeos support:
- Start MSEide
- 'Project'-'Open', select <yourmseguidirectory>/apps/ide/mseide_zeos.prj
- 'Project'-'Options'-'Macros', adjust 'Value' of msedir and zeosdir according to your installation.
- 'Project'-'Build', the IDE with Zeos support wil be compiled.
- Exit MSEide.
- Run <yourmseguidirectory>/apps/ide/mseide_zeos .

To start a new Zeos project:
- 'Project'-'New'-'From Template', select 'zeos.prj'.
- 'Project'-'Options'-'Macros', adjust 'Value' of msedir and zeosdir according to your installation.

Please send questions and bug reports to:
news://news.grid-sky.com/public.mseide-msegui.talk

Martin

Posted: 20.08.2007, 09:05
by gury
I appreciate very much your dedication and work put to this project. I decided to switch from Delphi 7 to MSE, step by step. I am more than satisfied with it and I am currently using version 1.2. Now I am developing cross-compiler prog. language for Atari 8-bit platform, providing some or all similarities with native Action! language. I see you integrated support for ZEOS components, which take me even closer to your development system. When I use ZEOS with Firebird, I will post here to inform you about that.

Thank you very much Martin,

Gury

P.S.:
One question. I noticed you provide new branches/versions at another link and I just want to know if you will update http://homepage.bluewin.ch/msegui/ sometime?

Posted: 20.08.2007, 10:12
by mdaems
Hi Martin,

No problems building the ide. When I try to create a project from template zeos.prj I get the attached message. Probably there's some hardcode path left or should I configure it somewhere?

Mark

Posted: 20.08.2007, 10:44
by mse
@gury:
hompage.bluewin.ch/msegui has the last stable release, it will be updated at release of version 1.4. Betas and SVN are hosted on sourceforge.

@mdaems:
Can you provide steps to reproduce the error?

Posted: 20.08.2007, 11:45
by mdaems
Project->New->From Template
Choose Zeos.prj
Enter new project name/location
There's the error...

When no project is open on doing this you get a similar message before the template selection box is shown. Maybe because MSEDIR of the current project is used instead of the general MSEDIR setting?

Mark

Posted: 20.08.2007, 12:05
by mdaems
Maybe it's these lines in Zeos.prj template?

Code: Select all

[projectoptions]
projectdir=/home/mse/packs/standard/svn/mse/trunk/apps/ide/templates
...
macronames=2
 msedir
 zeosdir
macrovalues=2
 /home/mse/packs/standard/svn/mse/trunk/
 /home/mse/packs/standard/svn/zeos/trunk/
...

Posted: 20.08.2007, 15:51
by mse
You are right, the problem is the ${MSEDIR} macro, ${TEMPLATEDIR} depends on it.
SVN trunk rev. 1475 has a modified version of zeos.prj, please try again.
http://mseide-msegui.svn.sourceforge.ne ... iew=markup

Posted: 22.08.2007, 00:28
by mdaems
Works indeed. We still need to set ${zeosdir} on a per project basis, but that's not a real problem.

Do you have a small sample project? I did manage to get a connection and fetch the serverversion. Executing a query didn't work however. Maybe just because I forget something?
I tried this :

Code: Select all

procedure tmainfo.form_create(const sender:tobject);
begin
 TZConnection1.Connect;
 tlabel1.caption := TZConnection1.ServerVersionStr;
 tmsezreadonlyquery1.Open;
 tmsezreadonlyquery1.last;
end;
Got an Edatabase Exception on tmsezreadonlyquery1.last; because the dataset was inactive??

Posted: 22.08.2007, 10:31
by mse
We still need to set ${zeosdir} on a per project basis, but that's not a real problem.
- 'Project'-'Open', select "apps/ide/templates/zeos.prj".
- 'Project'-'Options'-'Macros', update 'Value' of row "zeosdir".
- 'Project'-'Save as', save as "my_zeos.prj".
For a new project 'Project'-'New'-'From Template', select "my_zeos.prj".
Alternatively you can add the zeos library path to ".fpc.cfg" (Linux).
Do you have a small sample project?
I added an example with Sqlite3 to SVN trunk/help/tutorials/db/zeos/sqlite.

http://sourceforge.net/svn/?group_id=165409
Screenshot:

Image

Warning:
I had to change my Suse 10.2 installation because Zeos loads libsqlite.so for "sqlite-3" protocol, it should load libsqlite3.so instead IMHO.
The non latin characters work in ZeolsLib with an utf-8 locale only.
In MSEgui I convert from/to utf8 to/from UCS2 while fetching/writing Sqlite3 string fields (tmsebufdataset holds all strings in UCS2 encoding, all visible texts are encoded in UCS2 in MSEgui), it sems ZeosLib does not convert utf8 <-> locale encoding for Sqlite3?

Posted: 22.08.2007, 11:31
by mdaems
Concerning the libsqlite3.so warning.
I'm not a linux user. Is there a standard naming convention for the libsqliteXX.so over all linux distro's?
If somebody can tell me how the libraries for version 2.8 and 3 are called I can change the names in the ZPlainSqLite28.pas and ZPlainSqLite3.pas files.

Mark

BTW. I still can't get it working with mysql. Ever tried that? Connection is OK. Only opening the dataset doesn't return a resultset. The sample using SQLite worked immediately. Just dropped the sqlite3.dll next to the executables and everything worked. Do you have a plain SQL script to generate the tables on other databases. That way I can use your tutorial project and just set other connection properties.

Posted: 22.08.2007, 13:10
by mse
Strange, it works for me with Protocol "mysql-5". The create script:
CREATE TABLE `table1` (
`pk` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
`int1` int(11),
`text1` varchar(20),
PRIMARY KEY (`pk`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM DEFAULT CHARSET=utf8