PostgreSQL timestamp with timezone issue

The offical for ZeosLib 7.3 Report problems, ask for help, post proposals for the new version of Zeoslib 7.3/v8
Quick Info:
-We made two new drivers: odbc(raw and unicode version) and oledb
-GUID domain/field-defined support for FB
-extended error infos of Firebird
-performance ups are still in queue
In future some more feature will arrive, so stay tuned and don't hassitate to help
MJFShark
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder

PostgreSQL timestamp with timezone issue

Post by MJFShark »

Hi All!

I'm fairly new to PostgreSQL and I noticed that using the Zeoslib PostgreSQL protocol querying CURRENT_TIMESTAMP always gives an unadjusted value (it seems to return UTC time which is what PostgreSQL stores for TimestampTz types.) I think that's incorrect (or perhaps I'm doing something wrong or missing a setting.) I installed the PostgreSQL ODBC driver and using that with the Zeoslib ODBC protocol I get back the correct adjusted time. So for example:

PostgreSQL Protocol:
SQL> select current_timestamp;
Result: 2021-03-04 04:35:47.120178 (my local and server time was 23:35 so this appears to be UTC time, 5 hours ahead of my Tz)
SQL> select to_char(current_timestamp, 'yyyy-mm-dd hh24:mi:ss TZH')
Result: 2021-03-03 23:35:47 -05 (this is what I'd expect, though I'm formatting it to show the Tz.)

ODBC Protocol using the PostgreSQL ODBC driver:
SQL> select current_timestamp;
Result: 2021-03-03 23:33:20 (This is correct and what I'd expect above)
SQL> select to_char(current_timestamp, 'yyyy-mm-dd hh24:mi:ss TZH')
Result: 2021-03-03 23:33:20 -05

Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated!

-Mark
marsupilami
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder

Re: PostgreSQL timestamp with timezone issue

Post by marsupilami »

Hello Mark,