I have a small app using ADO and MSSQL 2005 and it seems the memory usage keeps increasing. I looked at the task manger and I could see Memory and number of handles increasing.
I added FastMM4 to my project but it did not report any leaks. Does anyone have any idea as to what is going on?
Sandeep
ADO Memory and handle count
Moderators: gto, cipto_kh, EgonHugeist
-
- Expert Boarder
- Posts: 158
- Joined: 06.11.2005, 01:43
No, I am not creating any new connections or queries. I have a test app with one connection and one query and I close and open the query about 10 times.
I was using FastMM4 to check why the memory usage was increasing. It could be because of increase in handles or some objects not being freed. I was not sure what was going on, so I tried FastMM4.
Sandeep
I was using FastMM4 to check why the memory usage was increasing. It could be because of increase in handles or some objects not being freed. I was not sure what was going on, so I tried FastMM4.
Sandeep
-
- Expert Boarder
- Posts: 158
- Joined: 06.11.2005, 01:43
Hi Mark
I have been trying to find what is going on, I don't have enough knowledge about COM stuff but I think it could be to do something with COM stuff.
Any suggestions what I should look at or try to do. We had to move one of our clients to MSSQL2005 and it can be accessed only using ADO so it is a bit urgent for us to try and fix this issue.
All suggestions are welcome.
Sandeep
I have been trying to find what is going on, I don't have enough knowledge about COM stuff but I think it could be to do something with COM stuff.
Any suggestions what I should look at or try to do. We had to move one of our clients to MSSQL2005 and it can be accessed only using ADO so it is a bit urgent for us to try and fix this issue.
All suggestions are welcome.
Sandeep
-
- Expert Boarder
- Posts: 158
- Joined: 06.11.2005, 01:43
I have been trying to find the cause of handle leaks in ADO and what I have found is if following line is used
instead of
in unit ZDbcAdoStatement then the handles are not lost. I also compared it to Standard ADO components in Delphi and if I use eoAsyncFetch option in TADOQuery I get similar behavior as in Zeos with adAsyncFetch.
I'll do a bit more investigation and see what that's all about.
I was wondering if anyone is using Zeos and ADO?
Regards
Sandeep
Code: Select all
AdoRecordSet.Open(FAdoCommand, EmptyParam, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockOptimistic, adCmdUnspecified);
Code: Select all
AdoRecordSet.Open(FAdoCommand, EmptyParam, adOpenForwardOnly, adLockOptimistic, adAsyncFetch);
I'll do a bit more investigation and see what that's all about.
I was wondering if anyone is using Zeos and ADO?
Regards
Sandeep