problem with ZQuery

Forum related to version 6.5.1 (alpha) and 6.6.x (beta) of ZeosLib's DBOs

Moderators: gto, cipto_kh, EgonHugeist

Post Reply
guyvdb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 20
Joined: 23.08.2005, 07:54

problem with ZQuery

Post by guyvdb »

Yesterday i installed wincvs, and downloaded the lastest version of Zeoslib
6.5.1
Now, we have a big problem. The property 'Requestlive' does not exist anymore in the new library. So, if we want to use the latest cvs version, we have to change over the hundred forms and a couple of units too.
What's the problem?
Is 6.5.1 not compatible with 6.5.1 last year?
Stevie
Zeos Dev Team
Zeos Dev Team
Posts: 37
Joined: 16.08.2005, 10:53
Location: Soest
Contact:

Post by Stevie »

Yes, we decided to change this property from RequestLive to ReadOnly. I recommend to use the Tool BKReplaceEm to search and replace any reference in your code (*.pas and *.dfm).
Please consider that RequestLive = True is now ReadOnly = False and RequestLive = False is now ReadOnly = True!

Please refer to zeosdbo_rework\documentation\development\newfeatures\reports to see all new features/changes that were made.
Last edited by Stevie on 08.09.2005, 15:19, edited 1 time in total.
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the universe. (Albert Einstein)
guyvdb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 20
Joined: 23.08.2005, 07:54

Post by guyvdb »

I looked in the source code, and the published property 'requestlive' does not exist anymore.
I installed the version of 6.5.1 (nov 2004) again, so the project works.
But we have a couple of problems, so we want to use the latest version.
If you delete a property of a component, it is not backwards compatible.
Is there a fast workaround for this problem?
guyvdb
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 20
Joined: 23.08.2005, 07:54

Post by guyvdb »

Thanks for the answer.
I must send the latest message the same time as you did, so ignore it.
User avatar
fduenas
Zeos Dev Team
Zeos Dev Team
Posts: 132
Joined: 26.08.2005, 08:12
Location: Cancún

Post by fduenas »

Add a property to ZAbstractRODataset component name it 'RequestLive'. made the necessary changes so when changed to true it will change 'ReadOnly' property to 'false' and viceversa. With this you can still use your sources.
User avatar
fduenas
Zeos Dev Team
Zeos Dev Team
Posts: 132
Joined: 26.08.2005, 08:12
Location: Cancún

Post by fduenas »

I have cheked the sources and found that 'requestLive' property is still used in ZAbstractRODataSet.pas but it is not published, it is the protected section, so the only thign to do is to move thsi declaration:

Code: Select all

TZAbstractRODataset = class(TDataSet)
private
 ...
 ...
protected
  ..
 property RequestLive: Boolean read FRequestLive write FRequestLive
       default False;
 ...
 ...
to the published section of the component

Code: Select all

TZAbstractRODataset = class(TDataSet)
private
...
protected
...
published
 property RequestLive: Boolean read FRequestLive write FRequestLive
       default False;
 ...
 ...
end;
Also add the following code to TZQuery and TZTable published sections in Zdataset.pas

Code: Select all

TZQuery = class (TZAbstractDataSet)
  published
  ...
  property RequestLive default true;
  ..
end;
...
...
TZTable = class (TZAbstractTable)
  published
  ...
  property RequestLive default true;
  ...
end;
This will not affect ReadOnly behaviour because ReadOnly reads the value from RequestLive, so it is safe.
Post Reply