Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

The offical for ZeosLib 7.3 Report problems, ask for help, post proposals for the new version of Zeoslib 7.3/v8
Quick Info:
-We made two new drivers: odbc(raw and unicode version) and oledb
-GUID domain/field-defined support for FB
-extended error infos of Firebird
-performance ups are still in queue
In future some more feature will arrive, so stay tuned and don't hassitate to help
Post Reply
brick08
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
Joined: 13.01.2021, 03:27

Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by brick08 »

Hi all.
I have MS SQL Server 2019, Lazarus 2.0.10 and Zeos 8.0 last trunk.
I create fields on the server, for example NUMERIC(18,5). It is defined as TZFMTBCDField. When displaying in grid, the value is 0, its look like as '00000000.00'. Although a TZBCDField look like as '0'.
I noticed that after update ZQuery it look like as '0' and ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.Precision equal 0 and ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.SignSpecialPlaces equal 0. But after refresh ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.Precision equal 10 and ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.SignSpecialPlaces equal 2, and so its look like as '00000000.00'. Is it bug?

And question 2.
Why fields created as NUMERIC(18,3) and NUMERIC(18,5) in ZQuery autocreated as TZFMTBCDField, but field created as NUMERIC(18,4) autocreated as TZBCDField?
P.S. Sorry for my English.
marsupilami
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1918
Joined: 17.01.2011, 14:17

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by marsupilami »

Hello brick :)
brick08 wrote: 13.01.2021, 04:25 Hi all.
I have MS SQL Server 2019, Lazarus 2.0.10 and Zeos 8.0 last trunk.
I create fields on the server, for example NUMERIC(18,5). It is defined as TZFMTBCDField. When displaying in grid, the value is 0, its look like as '00000000.00'. Although a TZBCDField look like as '0'.
I noticed that after update ZQuery it look like as '0' and ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.Precision equal 0 and ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.SignSpecialPlaces equal 0. But after refresh ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.Precision equal 10 and ZQuerystNUMERIC18_5.AsBCD.SignSpecialPlaces equal 2, and so its look like as '00000000.00'. Is it bug?
This looks like a bug to me. Could you try to create a little example program that shows the problem? That usually greatly helps solving the problem.
brick08 wrote: 13.01.2021, 04:25And question 2.
Why fields created as NUMERIC(18,3) and NUMERIC(18,5) in ZQuery autocreated as TZFMTBCDField, but field created as NUMERIC(18,4) autocreated as TZBCDField?
P.S. Sorry for my English.
This is because of the precision. TBCDField internally uses the Currency data type. It can hold up to 4 decimal digits. So Zeos uses it for Numeric(18,1) to Numeric(18,4). If there are more than 4 decimal digits, we have to use TFMTBCDField because then we need the extra precision of the TBCD type. Zeos mirrors these decisions in its own fields. TZBCDField uses the currency data type internally and TZFMTBCDField uses TBCD internally.
Even though we could use TZFMTBCDField for all Numeric type fields, we use TZBCDField if we can because it usually is faster.

Best regards,

Jan
brick08
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
Joined: 13.01.2021, 03:27

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by brick08 »

marsupilami wrote: 13.01.2021, 09:46 TBCDField internally uses the Currency data type. It can hold up to 4 decimal digits. So Zeos uses it for Numeric(18,1) to Numeric(18,4)
No. Zeos autocreated as TBCDField only Numeric(18,4), and Numeric(18,1),(18,2),(18,3) it created as TFMTBCDField.

I attached small example. See it, please
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by EgonHugeist »

@brick08

all values having a precision of 18 and decimals <> 4 can't be represented as BCD(binary coded decimal alias System.Currency).
Reason is simple because the Currency is a Int64 having a fixed scale of 4.
Means a values with a Scale of 5 f.e. can't fit into the Currency whithout precision loss. Values having a scale < 4 can simply overrun the Int64 because we can save only 18 didgits total, and the scale needs to be multiplied by 10 by each missing scale digit.
You can use Values like NUMERIC(17,3) and NUMERIC(16,2) and NUMERIC(15,1) to keep the BCD range. Everything else will be mapped to the slow FMTBCD.

Anyway the Delphi defaults for the TBCD records are desturbing you. The FPC TBCD representation is scientific wheras the Delphi representation is compact/packed. I'll check your example as soon as i've time. As an alternative you can define your own format to represent the values i guess?
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
brick08
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
Joined: 13.01.2021, 03:27

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by brick08 »

EgonHugeist wrote: 13.01.2021, 18:15 As an alternative you can define your own format to represent the values i guess?
Even if i use DisplayFormat = '#0.#', zero value in FMTBCD still shows how '00000000.00'.
I just want to display '0' for default in FMTBCD fields.
marsupilami
Platinum Boarder
Platinum Boarder
Posts: 1918
Joined: 17.01.2011, 14:17

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by marsupilami »

Hello brick08,

Egonhugeist has committed a fix for your problem in Zeos trunk in revision 7227. Could you please check if that solves your problem?

Best regards,

Jan
brick08
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
Joined: 13.01.2021, 03:27

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by brick08 »

marsupilami wrote: 15.01.2021, 09:28 Could you please check if that solves your problem?
Yes, now it's all right. thank you.
brick08
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
Joined: 13.01.2021, 03:27

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by brick08 »

In order not to create a new topic, I will write here.
When setting a column property DisplayFormat = '0.#', for FMTBCD type fields, integer values are displayed with a separator, although BCD type fields are displayed without it.
Can you fix this?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by EgonHugeist »

Hi,

i'm not willing to fix or replace the FPC FormatBCD method. But i did override the SetAsLargeInt/SetAsCurrency methods in the TZFMTBCDField. I'm always leftpacking the values. So test https://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/code-0/7317/. Did that help? Just a hint: remove the display format.

To be fair it would be nice if you file a bugreport to: https://bugs.freepascal.org/my_view_page.php
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
brick08
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 14
Joined: 13.01.2021, 03:27

Re: Display zero value in TZFMTBCDField

Post by brick08 »

EgonHugeist wrote: 12.02.2021, 06:51 Did that help?
No, Integer values are still displayed with a separator. The program does not stop at a breakpoint in the SetAsBCD procedure, although it does stop at TZFMTBCDField.GetText. I think the procedure TZFMTBCDField.SetAsBCD is not being executed.
EgonHugeist wrote: 12.02.2021, 06:51 To be fair it would be nice if you file a bugreport to: https://bugs.freepascal.org/my_view_page.php
I wrote there. https://bugs.freepascal.org/view.php?id=38489
I'll wait.
Post Reply