Full Unicode/Ansi-Support in /testing branch

The alpha/beta tester's forum for ZeosLib 7.0.x series

Report problems concerning our Delphi 2009+ version and new Zeoslib 7.0 features here.

This is a forum that will be removed once the 7.X version goes into stable!!

Moderators: gto, EgonHugeist, olehs

Locked
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

@Michal

Hmpf that i've allready tryed without success.

I try to connect to 'zeoslib' with the following settings:
User: 'sa'
Pwd: 'masterkey'
Host: localhost
Catalog: 'zeoslib'
Database: 'zeoslib'

Like i wrote, i can connect to master and i've only installed my 2005 instance.

Do you see issues here? Are there some server-settings i don't know about?

Michael

Btw. You're talking with a MsSQL Newbe...
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 1309
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Post by miab3 »

@EgonHugeist

My sample settings:

object ZConnection1: TZConnection
UTF8StringsAsWideField = True
PreprepareSQL = False
Catalog = 'Northwind'
Connected = True
HostName = 'U7-PC\SQLEXPRESS'
Port = 0
Database = 'Northwind'
User = 'sa'
Password = 'pass'
Protocol = 'FreeTDS_MsSQL>=2005'
Left = 12
Top = 12
end
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

Ok Michal, i see only two differences: The port where i use 4431(i hope that is right now, because i'm writing from my smartphon) and the hostname where i allready tryed EGON-LAPTOP\SQLEXPRESS. But with that hostname i got always a 'Could not find that Host..' exception. Before i had my system crash i was able to connect via IP but that doesn't work anymore too. A nightmare...

I'll try to reinstall that server @weekend. Or is there an expert on the forum who can give me an advice which helps me to solve that stupid issue?

Michael
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 1309
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Post by miab3 »

@EgonHugeist
Still observe two drawbacks ZEOS library.

1st For the Unicode version of Delphi (DX2), ADO(only) does not see the metadata and is in readonly mode (everything is fine for Delphi2006)

2nd There is freezing applications and data destruction for Firebird 2.5 and Delphi DX2 on the structure of a table which I wrote:

CREATE TABLE "ADQA_All_types1" (
TSMALLINT SMALLINT,
TINTEGER INTEGER NOT NULL,
TFLOAT FLOAT,
TDOUBLE DOUBLE PRECISION,
TDATE DATE,
TTIME TIME
TTIMESTAMP TIMESTAMP,
TDECIMAL DECIMAL (18,6),
TBINARY VARCHAR (10921) CHARACTER SET octets,
TVARCHAR VARCHAR (15),
TCHAR CHAR (15),
BLOB TMemo SUB_TYPE 1 SEGMENT SIZE 2000
BLOB TBLOB SUB_TYPE 0 SEGMENT SIZE 2000
TBOOLEAN BOOL / * BOOL = SMALLINT CHECK (VALUE IS NULL OR VALUE IN (0, 1)) * /
);

I suppose the problem is the field:
TBINARY VARCHAR (10921) CHARACTER SET octets

Michal Abramczyk
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

@Michal,

i didn't forgot that firebird issue. But it isn't so easy, becaue (actually) the meta-informations do not check the charactersets or collations for varchar-fields. The MetaData does asume VARCHAR = stString/stUnicodeString(dependencies of the client characterset). But i found a first start (attached). It would be helpfull to see what exactly that testcase does. I think we've to assume the FieldType as stBytes. stBinaryStream isn't possible because of the DSQLDA object of FireBird. What do you think? Which field type does MyDAC assume?

Concerning the ADO issue: Hum that i didn't touch actually and it is new for me personally... But i will check that too if i find the time.

Michael
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
markus
Senior Boarder
Senior Boarder
Posts: 58
Joined: 17.10.2011, 12:43
Location: Piotrków Trybunalski, Poland

Post by markus »

EgonHugeist wrote:markus,

"sometimes" is strange. But i will check this, Marek.

Michael
I've been testing my app last week with rev. 1346 trying to get data badly encoded.
But it never happened:)

Thanks a lot Michael:)
miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 1309
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Post by miab3 »

@EgonHugeist

I tested Zeos7EH version 1370 for FB2.5 and Win7 (32/64) and D2006, DXE2 32/64 and Lazarus 32/64 and it seems that it is good.
I found an error in Lazarus for TIME field in the DBGrid always saved time is 00:00:00.

Returning to the ADO:
- It is used only for Delphi
- It works properly only for non-Unicode version
- And that is terribly slow compared to that of Delphi (dbGo).
Could it be possible to use Delphi dbGo for the connection to ADO in ZEOS?

Michal Abramczyk
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

@Markus,

Great news! Thank you for your replay!

@Michal

These are good and bad news again. Can you explain the time issue more detailed? Didn't i fixed that? That's. Wrong now?

And the ADO readonly issue will be fixed the next week(s). Everything step by step..

Michael
Last edited by EgonHugeist on 07.06.2012, 20:07, edited 1 time in total.
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 1309
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Post by miab3 »

@EgonHugeist

False alarm. This is a bug of TJDBGridControl in Lazarus.

Michal Abramczyk
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

@miab3,

Would you be so kind and make a bugreport on you Lazarus forum? That wil help us equal before other users report us the same issue.

Michael
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 1309
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Post by miab3 »

@EgonHugeist

Michael,
What do you think about this patch?:
http://zeosbugs.firmos.at/view.php?id=261

Michal Abramczyk
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

@miab3,

Michal, i know about such workouts. But this design breaks the ansi support for Delphi12_UP which other users need. Just look here http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=3507 this was one of the latest threads concerning a real FireBird issue. Firebird is not able (testet by my selves) to convert non unicode vary strings into unicode. Everything will be displayed wrong. I've solved this completely in another kind. I check the ClientCodePage for his CharEncoding (TZCharEncoding/ZCompatibility.pas) and decide what happens to the in/outcomming string(AnsiString/UnicodeString) to avoid exactly such reports or proposals. My personal favorite engine is FireBird. High functionality, real before and after triggers without stupid improvements like on mysql and so on...

If you can reproduce the trunked issue give me the testcase and it will be fixed quickly. That is an report of Testing or Trunk. There are several things going terribly wrong. The reason for my private branch. So i think that bugreport is closed for MY branch but it will be an alltime story for the other branches as long as the are not overriden. This will be decided from the success or happy (D7-D2007/D2009-XE2/FPC) users i hope. But my workout is not ready completly. Oracle/ASA/Ado and MsSQL(the reason for FreeTDS) is not tested/ready. Long times before Mark, the project-manger, proposed to look for a taskforce. Which is still a one man taskforce. My biggest problem is that now all available alltime Zeos bugs where reported on my branch too. Good for Zeos, bad for me to fullfill my workout.

We can not close that mantis bugreport as long testing/trunk do exist in the old well known design. And i personally do not have a private bug tracker. And the support for PreprepareSQL + characterset special suffixes like 'insert into table1 values (_UTF8'test') would be the cherry on the cake. But as long i do not get help from somebody i can only help step by step and warn the people for that issue. (done on page 1).

Summary: I do not accept this patch. This is already done, but in another kind.

Michael
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
jujibo
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 3
Joined: 08.06.2012, 11:07

Post by jujibo »

miab3 wrote: False alarm. This is a bug of TJDBGridControl in Lazarus.
What bug? Tried svn version?. Please feel free to fill a bug: http://sourceforge.net/tracker/?group_i ... tid=599764
jujiboutils is a work in progress.

Thank you!

Updated:
Fixed rev: 2454
miab3
Zeos Test Team
Zeos Test Team
Posts: 1309
Joined: 11.05.2012, 12:32
Location: Poland

Post by miab3 »

@jujibo

Thanks,
After today's patch
Fixed: TJDbGridTimeCtrl, store time value
looks to be good.
:)
Michal Abramczyk
User avatar
EgonHugeist
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 1936
Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38

Post by EgonHugeist »

@jujibo,

i've looked to that component palette. Is there a way to have also delphi support?

@miab3,

Michal, i've fixed the ADO ReadOnly issue. BUT i'm not able to update a row. T[s]he row is virtually shown as updated but nothing has changed on the server side. Which means after reopening the table all changes are lost. Now i want to know if that issue is the same for delphi2006 which you have. Was it ever possible to update the rows directly without the UpdateComponent or is there something more going wrong?[/s]
Now i get e new exception for inconsistent datatypes. Any ideas?

Patch done Rev. 1379

According the ADO speed issue i think it is possible that we've to update the ADO plain driver. But we use an generated TLB. Now i don't know if we can speed up this protocol.

Michael
Best regards, Michael

You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/

Image
Locked