No, I say have a database that is Unicode (UTF8) and an application that is Delphi 7 + Zeos 6, which is ANSI, which uses codepages. Add the CODEPAGE=xxx parameter to your connection object - depending on the locale settings of windows. You could the codepage from an ini file or try to determine it programmatically -> GetACP() is your friend, I think.
Once Zeos 7 is available, you probably can change easily to Delphi XE and have a full unicode solution then, without having to worry about your database.
I think this is the safest way.
If you are really determined about a full unicode solution there might be two other ways.
First: Others have had a problem similar to yours. Check http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=3297. The solution seems to be generic and might help you getting this to work with firebird too.
Second: If this doesn't work, then you might want to take a look at Lazarus + Zeos 6. Set CODEPAGE=UTF8 there and you should be fine. But have a look at the specifics about character sets in this environment at http://wiki.lazarus.freepascal.org/LCL_Unicode_Support.
I hope that helps,
Jan
character transliteration for blobs
Moderators: gto, cipto_kh, EgonHugeist
-
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 6
- Joined: 26.09.2011, 12:27
All do I did tread this topic i found no solution in it but there is a link to a solution i will try
http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=3124
So thanks Jan :-).
I will need a conversion tool anyway as older databases haver no codepage but if this works I am a very happy man.
I can finally use my new tools for my main job and there's many features in D XE that are not in D 7.
http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=3124
So thanks Jan :-).
I will need a conversion tool anyway as older databases haver no codepage but if this works I am a very happy man.
I can finally use my new tools for my main job and there's many features in D XE that are not in D 7.
-
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 6
- Joined: 26.09.2011, 12:27
I can see that with utf8 the ecoding works for äé etc but not for russian.
It just that i saw the IBComponents do the job on firebird with FSS_UNICODE
There i could enter russian greek and Dutch in one string.
So im sure this must be the route for a multilang one day. Maby that day is just not today.
It just that i saw the IBComponents do the job on firebird with FSS_UNICODE
There i could enter russian greek and Dutch in one string.
So im sure this must be the route for a multilang one day. Maby that day is just not today.
-
- Platinum Boarder
- Posts: 1956
- Joined: 17.01.2011, 14:17
Hello Delphidreamer,
the case did not let me sleep. It seems that the DBC-Driver for Interbase and firebird did not always return the correct string type. I have created a patch that lets me save normal latin letters, russian letters and even chinese words in one field. The patch is created against zeos7-trunk (https://zeoslib.svn.sourceforge.net/svn ... slib/trunk)using TortoiseSVN. No other changes are required. If you use this patch you have to set CODEPAGE=UTF8 in the ZConnection.Properties.
I don't know if this works correctly with Delphi 7 because I have no Delphi 7 installed.
I hope this works as it has cost me the better part of the night.
Jan
PS: If it works and you feel grateful enough that you want to give me money just contact me
the case did not let me sleep. It seems that the DBC-Driver for Interbase and firebird did not always return the correct string type. I have created a patch that lets me save normal latin letters, russian letters and even chinese words in one field. The patch is created against zeos7-trunk (https://zeoslib.svn.sourceforge.net/svn ... slib/trunk)using TortoiseSVN. No other changes are required. If you use this patch you have to set CODEPAGE=UTF8 in the ZConnection.Properties.
I don't know if this works correctly with Delphi 7 because I have no Delphi 7 installed.
I hope this works as it has cost me the better part of the night.
Jan
PS: If it works and you feel grateful enough that you want to give me money just contact me
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Fresh Boarder
- Posts: 6
- Joined: 26.09.2011, 12:27
Hmm.. it works if I use a DBMemo but when I use Developer Express controls (Grid + their DBMemom) it doesn't work. Do they send the text to the table in a different format perhaps?
I tried with standard dbedit earlier so the patch seems to fix something...
EDIT: Sorry, answered to this instead of a similar post I started..
I tried with standard dbedit earlier so the patch seems to fix something...
EDIT: Sorry, answered to this instead of a similar post I started..
- EgonHugeist
- Zeos Project Manager
- Posts: 1936
- Joined: 31.03.2011, 22:38
try this one:
http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=3427
Its completed.. So pay me!!!
best regards
EgonHugeist
http://zeos.firmos.at/viewtopic.php?t=3427
Its completed.. So pay me!!!
best regards
EgonHugeist
Best regards, Michael
You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/
You want to help? http://zeoslib.sourceforge.net/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3671
You found a (possible) bug? Use the new bugtracker dude! http://sourceforge.net/p/zeoslib/tickets/