ZEOS, Firebird and German Umlaute

Forum related to Firebird

Moderators: gto, cipto_kh, EgonHugeist

Post Reply
Josef Koller
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 26
Joined: 04.09.2005, 14:46

ZEOS, Firebird and German Umlaute

Post by Josef Koller »

Hello,

I have problems with a SQL statement like:

ZReadOnlyQuery1.sql.add('Select * from T_Buchung where "Art_Name" like :sbegriff');
ZReadOnlyQuery1.Params[0].asstring:= sbegriff;

sbegriff is for example: %Blüte%

I get an error like:
arithmetic exception, numeric overflow or string truncation Cannot transliterate character between character sets

How can I find a string with German Umlaute like Ü,Ä,Ö, ect with a SQL-Statement?

Many thanks and best regards

Josef
User avatar
Domo Sokrat
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: 15.09.2005, 06:19
Location: Halut / Milkyway - Westside

Post by Domo Sokrat »

Hi Josef,

:shock: did you create your database with default character set "ISO8859_1"?

And did you set the codepage for ZConnection that way ?...

[syntax="delphi"]ZConnection.Properties.Add ('lc_ctype=ISO8859_1');

or

ZConnection.Properties.Add ('Codepage=ISO8859_1');[/syntax]
Josef Koller
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 26
Joined: 04.09.2005, 14:46

Post by Josef Koller »

Hello,

I have the following entries:

Database-Info:

Firebird 1.5
ISO8859_1
FontCharacterSet: ANSI_CHARSET

and in ZConnection1.Properties:
Dialect=3
lc_ctype=ISO8859_1
User avatar
Domo Sokrat
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 5
Joined: 15.09.2005, 06:19
Location: Halut / Milkyway - Westside

Post by Domo Sokrat »

Hi Josef,

the same error occurs in my sample app if I use

Code: Select all

lc_ctype=ISO8859_1
Using

Code: Select all

Codepage=ISO8859_1
works perfectly!

Regards.

Btw: Created my sample database with default charset ISO8859_1 and created the test table without specifying the characterset in my CREATE TABLE command...
Josef Koller
Junior Boarder
Junior Boarder
Posts: 26
Joined: 04.09.2005, 14:46

Post by Josef Koller »

Hi,

Codepage=ISO8859_1

in the properties works perfectly. Now I get my Ö,Ä,Ü, ect.
Thanks for the posting.

Josef
Post Reply