Oracle error: Access violation ... in module 'oracore9.dll'

In this forum we will discuss things relating the ZEOSLib 6.6.x stable versions

Moderators: gto, EgonHugeist

Post Reply
OkosZeos
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: 09.10.2009, 00:12

Oracle error: Access violation ... in module 'oracore9.dll'

Post by OkosZeos »

Hi,

I have on the server side an Oracle XE 10 and the client side an Oracle Client 9.1.1. (the problem is same with 8.1.7)

I have also a Delphi7 compiled EXE.
I use ZeosDBO 6.6.1 or 6.6.5. The problem is same with the both versions of Zeos.

My SQL command is:
SELECT id, name, tax_number, trade_reg_number, postal_code, city, street, lastmoddate
FROM org_company

The table org_company.
CREATE TABLE ORG_COMPANY
(
ID INTEGER NOT NULL,
NAME NVARCHAR2(50) NOT NULL,
LASTMODDATE TIMESTAMP(6),
TAX_NUMBER VARCHAR2(20 BYTE),
TRADE_REG_NUMBER VARCHAR2(20 BYTE),
POSTAL_CODE VARCHAR2(10 BYTE),
CITY VARCHAR2(40 BYTE),
STREET VARCHAR2(50 BYTE)
);

And finally the error message:
Access violation at address 610A3285 in module 'oracore9.dll'. Write of address 00000000

I don't have the problem if I use Oracle Client 9.1.7.
But it is not a good solution, becose my client (a bank) do not give permission updating the driver. The bank use the v:8.1.7./9.1.1.
For this reason I must work with v:8.1.7./9.1.1.

I'm just wondering if this problem is know.
If yes what is the solution?

Can anybody help me?

BR
Okos
User avatar
mdaems
Zeos Project Manager
Zeos Project Manager
Posts: 2766
Joined: 20.09.2005, 15:28
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Post by mdaems »

Unfortunately, I don't know the solution.
I can only make 2 guesses.
- There may some bug in the oracle client version they are using that only shows up when using the OCI interface. (Don't know if they have other OCI using software)
- The OCI interface changed between different version. Zeoslib uses a fixed 'translation' of the OCI (translated from C to pascal). When this is the case you could solve this by modifying the oracle structures/constants used inside zeoslib. When doing so I would appreciate if you could implement it as a different 'protocol' in zeoslib so we can merge it into the official zeoslib release.

Mark
Image
OkosZeos
Fresh Boarder
Fresh Boarder
Posts: 2
Joined: 09.10.2009, 00:12

Post by OkosZeos »

Dear Mark,

Thanks for your effort. I will make a study of your proposition.

BR
Tibor
Post Reply